St Johnsbury Band logo
St Johnsbury Band logo picture

Meet the St. Johnsbury Band!

Band Group Photo
St. Johnsbury Band in North Congregational Church prior to their Christmas Concert in December 1999

Membership is open to musicians of all ages and abilities - no audition is required. Contact us through our email address or through our mailing address and a Band member will fill you in on how to join or simply come to a rehearsal!

The Band rehearses in the community room of the Caledonia Courthouse on Monday evenings at 7:00pm (6:30pm during the summer). The entrance is off the parking lot on the east side of the courthouse (not the Sheriff's office entrance). Take the elevator to the second floor and enter the community room.


The date indicates when the member joined the band.

Section Member
Directors Gary Aubin (Director)
Jim McGregor (Asst Director/Librarian)
Susan Crosby
Leslie Fredette - retired - 2019
Kirsten Harter - 2008
Carol Stevens
Deanna Wheeler - Teacher (retired) - 1986
Karl F. Wieland - retired - 2000
Flute Kathleen Barber
Alia Davis - 2019
Ellen Gold - Music Teacher - 1997
Marita Stressenger - 2016
Oboe Paul Cranmer - 2016
Mason Davis - 2018
Clarinet Michelle Allen
Mason Davis - 2018
Ronald Ducham - Dentist (retired) - 1975 (Lifetime)
Susan Gallagher (Publicity) - Public Relations - 1964 (Lifetime)
Joan Mead - University Professor and Dean, College of Liberal Arts Emeritus (retired) - 2009
Steve Stowell - 2014
Logan Thorner - 2016
Davina Whitehill (Trustee) - 2015
Lexandra Whitehill - 2019
Billie K. Winter - Veterinarian - 2001
Dianne Wyllie - School Librarian (retired) - 2006
Koren Warden
Cheryl Gove (Secretary/Treasurer) - 2016
Becky Mackin - Teacher - 1968 (Lifetime)
Jean Ashley (Uniforms) - Public and School Librarian (retired) - 1997
Marjorie Brown - Secretary (retired) - 1986 (Lifetime)
Mary Hinds (Trustee) - Employment Consultant/Common Ground-NHS - 1968 (Lifetime)
Cody Jarels - 2016
Krane Davis - 2018
Scott Labun - Financial Planner - 1980
Emma Towle - 2015
Mary-Beth Nolan
Leisha Ruhlman
French Horn David Askren (Web Manager) - Small Business Owner, CCV Faculty - 1994 (Lifetime)
Kevin Haynie
Deborah Smith - Teacher (retired) - 1973 (Lifetime)
David Askren (Web Manager) - Small Business Owner, CCV Faculty - 1994 (Lifetime)
Norene Blanchard - Homemaker - 1985 (Lifetime)
Jim Dam - 2018
Bobby-Ann Fearon - Cosmetologist - 1983 (Lifetime)
Sally Fishburn - 2012
Ken McCullock (Trustee)
Debi Smith - 2012
Laurie Warden - 2019
Trombone Winston Currier - Quality Control Manager (retired) - 1986
Tony Graveline - 2019
Kirsten Harter - 2008
Vicki Machell
James McGregor (Asst. Director/Librarian) - 1974 (Lifetime)
Richard Reed - Firefighter (retired) - 1960 (Lifetime)
Jim Sanders - 2018
Gary Aubin (Director) - Teacher (retired) - 1970 (Lifetime)
Rachel Booth - 2016
John Goodrich - General Manager (retired) - 1978 (Lifetime)
Jane H. Labun - School Librarian - 2001
Bert Vines
Tuba John Goodrich - General Manager (retired) - 1978 (Lifetime)
Rusty Speicher (Asst. Mgr.) - 2004
Percussion Kaci Cochran
Nola Forbes (retired) - 2018
Dave Hare (Manager) - Small Business Owner - 1997 (Lifetime)
Bruce James - President/General Manager of Vermont Broadcast Associates - 2001
Band Roster Roster is a password protected PDF file listing member contact information
Back to Top

Lifetime/Honorary Members

Lifetime membership to the St. Johnsbury Band is awarded to those members who have given enduring time and have made significant efforts to advance the goals of the St. Johnsbury Band. Honorary membership is awarded to those who are not Band members but have made a significant contribution to the Band.

The following is a list of the Band's Lifetime and Honorary members along with the year they were honored with that status.

  David Askren (Lifetime - 2010)
  Gary Aubin (Lifetime - 2002)
  Gerald Aubin (Lifetime - deceased)
  Paul Aubin (Lifetime - deceased)
  Arthur Ayer (Lifetime - deceased)
  Reg Bagley (Lifetime - deceased)
  Arnold Ball (Lifetime - deceased)
  Nancy Bellefeuille (Lifetime)
  Wallace Bengston (Honorary)
  Norene Blanchard (Lifetime - 2009)
  Les Blodgett (Lifetime - 2005)
  John Brockardt (Lifetime - deceased)
  Marjorie Brown (Lifetime)
  Richard Chapman (Honorary - 2009)
  Chris Douglas (Lifetime - deceased)
  Ron Ducham (Lifetime - 2006)
  Barbara Daniels (Lifetime - 2013)
  Edith Anne Emery (Lifetime - deceased)
  Bobby-Ann Fearon (Lifetime - 2004)
  Arthur Fiedler (Honorary - deceased)
  Ted French (Honorary - deceased)
  Susan Gallagher (Lifetime - 1997)
  Doug Gero (Lifetime - deceased)
  Howard Gieselman (Honorary - deceased)
  John Goodrich (Lifetime - 2006)
  Dave Hare (Lifetime - 2015)
  Carroll Hastings (Lifetime - deceased)
  Marie-Anne Hemond (Lifetime - 2008)
  Leo E. Henault (Lifetime - deceased)
  Mary Hinds (Lifetime - 2011)
  Stacy Jewell (Honorary - 2016)
  Jim Kennedy (Honorary)
  Bobby Kourkoulis (Honorary)
  Jane Labun (Lifetime - 2018)
  Scott Labun (Lifetime - 2018)
  George Lapham (Lifetime - deceased)
  Garey Larrabee (Honorary)
  Becky Mackin (Lifetime - 1997)
  James McGregor (Lifetime - 2003)
  Candy and Bill Mellett (Honorary)
  J. Leo Messier (Honorary)
  Gloria Moore (Lifetime - 2013)
  Donald Mullally (Honorary - deceased)
  Loren Phelps (Lifetime - 1999)
  David Rau (Honorary - 2007)
  Molly Rau (Honorary - 2007)
  Faye Reed (Lifetime - deceased)
  Richard Reed (Lifetime)
  Deborah Smith (Lifetime - 2007)
  Mildred Smith (Honorary)
  Hollis Steeves (Lifetime - deceased)
  Gerald Tripp (Lifetime - deceased)
  Larry Webbley (Lifetime - deceased)
  Elmer Willey (Lifetime - deceased)

Back to Top

In Memorium/Rembrances

In Memorium membership to the St. Johnsbury Band is awarded to those deceased members who gave enduring time and made significant efforts to advance the goals of the St. Johnsbury Band.

Remembrances is a way for the band to remember deceased members.

The following is a list of Band members honored in memorium.

In Memorium
  William Alonso Burrington-Sargent, Jr. (2011)
  Sarah Christophersen (2009)
  Arpad Elo (2008)
  George C. Felch (2011)
  Peter Fichte (2016)
  Homer Fontain
  Ted French (2009)
  William Herrick
  Orin Jones (2008)
  Raymond Laughlin (2008)
  James (Jimmy) Lumbra (2008)
  John Mead (2015)
  Ralph Moore (2011)
  Charlie Priest (2012)

  Chris Douglas (1967 — 2016)
  Edith Anne Emery (1990 — 2017)
  Harold Norman Ward (2015 — 2018)
  Peter Fichte (2009 — 2016)
  John Mead (2001 — 2014)

Back to Top

Youth Award

The St. Johnsbury Band welcomes members of all ages. We especially encourage younger musicians to join us to keep the Band membership vibrant. This Youth Award is a way to recognize the significant contributions these young musicians make to the vitality of the Band. This award was first presented in 2015.

The following is a list of Band youth members honored with this award.

Youth Award
  Kaci Cochran (2015)
  Kate Mori (2018)

Back to Top

Rehearsal Photos

Here are some rehearsal photos.

Rehearsal Photo
Gary Aubin, Director
Rehearsal Photo
David Askren, Bobby-Ann Fearon, and Les Blodgett
Rehearsal Photo
Jane Labun, Dave Hare, and Norene Blanchard
Rehearsal Photo
Rehearsing in the Courthouse community room
Rehearsal Photo
Flutes and clarinets rehearsing
Rehearsal Photo
David Askren
Rehearsal Photo
Gerald Aubin
Rehearsal Photo
Jim McGregor
Back to Top